How to do 520 chain & sprocket conversion 1098/1198 - Ducati Superbikes - Page 2

Jump to content





- - - - -

How to do 520 chain & sprocket conversion 1098/1198


26 replies to this topic

#21 yehduc

    1098 Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
    Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: SoCal
  • Bike: 1098S

Posted 11 April 2011 - 10:38 PM

TC996 said:

They are serrated nuts that came with the kit. Torqued to 13 ft-lb as recommended by Drive Systems USA.

I'm installing the same conversion kit and I was wondering if you had a gap between the oem sprocket hub cover and the quick change sprocket carrier?

Remove Advertisements Sponsored Links

    Ducati-Superbikes.com



#22 TC996

    1098S Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
    Joined: 22-April 10
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland
  • Bike: 09 1198

Posted 12 April 2011 - 03:03 PM

yehduc said:

I'm installing the same conversion kit and I was wondering if you had a gap between the oem sprocket hub cover and the quick change sprocket carrier?

Yes there is gap. Its about 1mm.

#23 yehduc

    1098 Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
    Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: SoCal
  • Bike: 1098S

Posted 12 April 2011 - 09:04 PM

TC996 said:

Yes there is gap. Its about 1mm.

Mine is almost 2mm.

Attached Files



#24 TC996

    1098S Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
    Joined: 22-April 10
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland
  • Bike: 09 1198

Posted 12 April 2011 - 09:52 PM

yehduc said:

Mine is almost 2mm.

I don't think it matters as long as the center portion of the cover seats against the center portion of the carrier, and that the parimeter of the cover seats against the damper pucks. But I would suggest contacting your supplier if this concerns you. My sprocket and carrier does not move from side to side at all. I have done a number of track days and street miles without any issues so I am not concern with it.

#25 TC996

    1098S Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
    Joined: 22-April 10
  • Location: Baltimore, Maryland
  • Bike: 09 1198

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:19 PM

The stock assembly has a gap as well.

Attached Files



#26 FeM

    Duc freak

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
    Joined: 05-December 09
  • Location: Brussels - Belgium
  • Bike: 1198s, Multistrada 1000DS

Posted 01 November 2014 - 08:24 AM

Hello,

Unortunately a lot of hyperlinks on this forum are gone. I have had the chain replaced on my 1198s by a 15/39 520 chain. It really goes well but I have a clearance issue. What is the best solution recommended? Add a few links?

rgds, Filip.

#27 RandomTask

    1098 Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
    Joined: 08-February 08
  • Location: Colorado
  • Bike: 2007 Ducati 1098

Posted 25 November 2014 - 05:27 AM

I can't speak to that specific setup but first check your chain tension. If that's good and you still have clearance issues - assuming rubbing against the swingarm - then yes, add a link or two. Another check (but probably too late now) is to set your wheelbase to the same as stock, then set the chain length to get the proper tension. Too big of a gearing change will change your wheelbase/handling if you use the same number of links as before.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users